Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

0 of 1 copy available
1 person waiting per copy

Place a hold Read a sample Read a sample
Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Steve Berry, Naomi Novik, and Harry Turtledove, Alan Smale's gripping alternate history series imagines a world in which the Roman Empire has survived long enough to invade North America in 1218. Now the stunning story carries hero Gaius Marcellinus deeper into the culture of an extraordinary people—whose humanity, bravery, love, and ingenuity forever change his life and destiny.

In A.D. 1218, Praetor Gaius Marcellinus is ordered to conquer North America and turning it into a Roman province. But outside the walls of the great city of Cahokia, his legion is destroyed outright; Marcellinus is the only one spared. In the months and years that follow, Marcellinus comes to see North America as his home and the Cahokians as his kin. He vows to defend these proud people from any threat, Roman or native.

After successfully repelling an invasion by the fearsome Iroqua tribes, Marcellinus realizes that a weak and fractured North America won't stand a chance against the returning Roman army. Worse, rival factions from within threaten to tear Cahokia apart just when it needs to be most united and strong. Marcellinus is determined to save the civilization that has come to mean more to him than the empire he once served. But to survive the swords of Roma, he first must avert another Iroqua attack and bring Cahokia together. Only with the hearts and souls of a nation at his back can Marcellinus hope to know triumph.
Praise for Alan Smale and Eagle in Exile

"In Alan Smale, speculative fiction has been dealt a winning hand. Part historian, part anthropologist, part scientist, Smale is a renaissance man with a storyteller's gift for letting tireless research inform the narrative without overwhelming it. Smale entertains, educates, and enraptures."—Myke Cole, author of Javelin Rain

"[Eagle in Exile] has the pace and scope of a Michener or Uris epic. . . . Smale's action scenes slash across page after page, intense and bloody. . . . Grab your dagger and sword, for the battle continues."Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Warfare, political conflict, family strife—these are all presented in an epic scope where any decision or wrong move can forever change society."—Tech Times

"Thoroughly believable . . . Marcellinus is a complicated man, a hero we can all get behind."—Historical Novels Review
From the Hardcover edition.

Expand title description text
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group

Kindle Book

  • Release date: March 22, 2016

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780804177252
  • File size: 6942 KB
  • Release date: March 22, 2016

EPUB eBook

  • ISBN: 9780804177252
  • File size: 5719 KB
  • Release date: March 22, 2016


Loading

0 of 1 copy available
1 person waiting per copy

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB eBook

Languages

English

Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Steve Berry, Naomi Novik, and Harry Turtledove, Alan Smale's gripping alternate history series imagines a world in which the Roman Empire has survived long enough to invade North America in 1218. Now the stunning story carries hero Gaius Marcellinus deeper into the culture of an extraordinary people—whose humanity, bravery, love, and ingenuity forever change his life and destiny.

In A.D. 1218, Praetor Gaius Marcellinus is ordered to conquer North America and turning it into a Roman province. But outside the walls of the great city of Cahokia, his legion is destroyed outright; Marcellinus is the only one spared. In the months and years that follow, Marcellinus comes to see North America as his home and the Cahokians as his kin. He vows to defend these proud people from any threat, Roman or native.

After successfully repelling an invasion by the fearsome Iroqua tribes, Marcellinus realizes that a weak and fractured North America won't stand a chance against the returning Roman army. Worse, rival factions from within threaten to tear Cahokia apart just when it needs to be most united and strong. Marcellinus is determined to save the civilization that has come to mean more to him than the empire he once served. But to survive the swords of Roma, he first must avert another Iroqua attack and bring Cahokia together. Only with the hearts and souls of a nation at his back can Marcellinus hope to know triumph.
Praise for Alan Smale and Eagle in Exile

"In Alan Smale, speculative fiction has been dealt a winning hand. Part historian, part anthropologist, part scientist, Smale is a renaissance man with a storyteller's gift for letting tireless research inform the narrative without overwhelming it. Smale entertains, educates, and enraptures."—Myke Cole, author of Javelin Rain

"[Eagle in Exile] has the pace and scope of a Michener or Uris epic. . . . Smale's action scenes slash across page after page, intense and bloody. . . . Grab your dagger and sword, for the battle continues."Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Warfare, political conflict, family strife—these are all presented in an epic scope where any decision or wrong move can forever change society."—Tech Times

"Thoroughly believable . . . Marcellinus is a complicated man, a hero we can all get behind."—Historical Novels Review
From the Hardcover edition.

Expand title description text