Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The Elephant Girl

ebook
AN INDIE NEXT PICK AND AN AMAZON BEST BOOK OF THE MONTH!
 
#1 bestselling author James Patterson and award-winning author Ellen Banda-Aaku deliver an unforgettable story of a girl, an elephant, and their life-changing friendship—perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, Pax, and Because of Winn-Dixie.
 
Clever, sensitive Jama likes elephants better than people. While her classmates gossip—especially about the new boy, Leku—twelve-year-old Jama takes refuge at the watering hole outside her village. There she befriends a baby elephant she names Mbegu, Swahili for seed. 
 
When Mbegu’s mother, frightened by poachers, stampedes, Jama and Mbegu are blamed for two deaths—one elephant and one human. Now Leku, whose mysterious and imposing father is head ranger at the conservancy, may be their only lifeline.    
 
Inspired by true events, The Elephant Girl is a moving exploration of the bonds between creatures and the power of belonging. 
 
“Emotionally thrilling and richly satisfying.” – Kirkus Reviews
“This powerful novel…is thoroughly grounded in Jama’s bravery, moral strength, and genuine love for the animals that share her home.” – Publishers Weekly

Expand title description text
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Kindle Book

  • Release date: July 25, 2022

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780316317030
  • Release date: July 25, 2022

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9780316317030
  • File size: 1792 KB
  • Release date: July 25, 2022

Loading
Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

Levels

ATOS Level:5.4
Interest Level:4-8(MG)
Text Difficulty:4

AN INDIE NEXT PICK AND AN AMAZON BEST BOOK OF THE MONTH!
 
#1 bestselling author James Patterson and award-winning author Ellen Banda-Aaku deliver an unforgettable story of a girl, an elephant, and their life-changing friendship—perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, Pax, and Because of Winn-Dixie.
 
Clever, sensitive Jama likes elephants better than people. While her classmates gossip—especially about the new boy, Leku—twelve-year-old Jama takes refuge at the watering hole outside her village. There she befriends a baby elephant she names Mbegu, Swahili for seed. 
 
When Mbegu’s mother, frightened by poachers, stampedes, Jama and Mbegu are blamed for two deaths—one elephant and one human. Now Leku, whose mysterious and imposing father is head ranger at the conservancy, may be their only lifeline.    
 
Inspired by true events, The Elephant Girl is a moving exploration of the bonds between creatures and the power of belonging. 
 
“Emotionally thrilling and richly satisfying.” – Kirkus Reviews
“This powerful novel…is thoroughly grounded in Jama’s bravery, moral strength, and genuine love for the animals that share her home.” – Publishers Weekly

Expand title description text