2 of 2 copies available

Read a sample Read a sample

Almost everybody who has grown up in Chicago knows about the Thorne Rooms. Housed in the Children's Galleries of the Chicago Art Institute, they are a collection of 68 exquisitely crafted miniature rooms made in the 1930s by Mrs. James Ward Thorne. Each of the 68 rooms is designed in the style of a different historic period, and every detail is perfect, from the knobs on the doors to the candles in the candlesticks. Some might even say, the rooms are magic.

Imagine--what if you discovered a key that allowed you to shrink so that you were small enough to sneak inside and explore the rooms' secrets? What if you discovered that others had done so before you? And that someone had left something important behind?

Fans of Chasing Vermeer, The Doll People, and From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler will be swept up in the magic of this exciting art adventure!

From the Hardcover edition.


Expand title description text
Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Kindle Book

  • Release date: February 23, 2010

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780375893247
  • Release date: February 23, 2010

EPUB eBook

  • ISBN: 9780375893247
  • File size: 3434 KB
  • Release date: February 23, 2010


Loading

2 of 2 copies available

Available formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB eBook

Languages

English

Levels

ATOS: 5.2
Lexile Score: 730
Interest Level: 4-8(MG)
Text Difficulty: 3

Almost everybody who has grown up in Chicago knows about the Thorne Rooms. Housed in the Children's Galleries of the Chicago Art Institute, they are a collection of 68 exquisitely crafted miniature rooms made in the 1930s by Mrs. James Ward Thorne. Each of the 68 rooms is designed in the style of a different historic period, and every detail is perfect, from the knobs on the doors to the candles in the candlesticks. Some might even say, the rooms are magic.

Imagine--what if you discovered a key that allowed you to shrink so that you were small enough to sneak inside and explore the rooms' secrets? What if you discovered that others had done so before you? And that someone had left something important behind?

Fans of Chasing Vermeer, The Doll People, and From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler will be swept up in the magic of this exciting art adventure!

From the Hardcover edition.


Expand title description text